DWD Legal Requirements
Oregon’s Death with Dignity (DWD) allows physicians to prescribe life-ending medication for their terminally ill patients.
To be eligible to use Oregon’s law, you must:
- Be 18 years or older;
- Have been diagnosed with a terminal illness, i.e, an illness that under the doctor’s best judgment, would end your life within 6 months;
- Have full mental capacity, i.e., the ability to make your own healthcare decisions when requesting the medication and when taking the medication;
- Be capable of ingesting the medication without assistance.
Not an Oregon resident? Learn more here.
Two Oregon Physicians Must Agree
Two Oregon physicians must agree that you are eligible to use the DWD law; one is the prescribing physician and the other is the consulting physician. If either physician questions your mental capacity, they may require that you see a psychiatrist or psychologist for evaluation.
If your current health care providers are not able or willing to participate in the law, let EOLCOR know.
“If I’m eligible for hospice, do I qualify for the law?”
Hospice enrollment does not necessarily coincide with eligibility for DWD. Physicians make the decisions for both hospice and Death With Dignity.
“What if I change my mind about using the law?”
You may change your mind any time. You are always in charge, and this option is ALWAYS your choice.
We were so grateful for EOLCOR’s service. The kindness of knowledgeable EOLCOR’s volunteers was invaluable and allowed my husband of over forty years and me to treasure the time we had together without worry. Their support, clarification of the Death With Dignity law, and their presence over a five-month period provided us with the gift of peace of mind, and I will be forever grateful.
EOLCOR Death With Dignity Checklist
We are a donor-supported organization
We are a donor supported organization (501)(c)(3) and rely on your donations to provide personal quality end-of-life service and support