We can assist you with your most common questions:
Can anyone avail themselves to Oregon’s Death With Dignity Act (DWD)
The law has very strict parameters. Two doctors must agree that to the best of their medical judgment, a person is terminally ill (6 months or less to live). The person must be an Oregon resident, at least 18 years of age and be mentally capable to make their own medical decisions. The person must also be able to swallow the medication or self-administer it through their feeding tube.
How long does it take to become an Oregon resident?
There is no required timeline to establish residency. However, you might be asked for proof of residency with one of the following: a driver’s license, state i.d. card, voter registration, apartment lease, etc.
Will my wishes on my advance directive or medical power of attorney serve as requests to pursue DWD?
No. All requests must be expressed autonomously and directly to your doctor at the time a person qualifies. Neither a legal instrument nor another person can do that for you. Client forms for download are available here.
In case of dementia, can a signed document qualify someone for DWD?
A person must have full mental capacity at the time they are going through the DWD process and at the time they decide to peacefully end their life.
What if my doctor refuses to support me through this process?
It is important to request DWD support from your other doctors. Your volunteer will discuss this with you.
What kind of medicine is prescribed for DWD?
The medicine that is used varies according to availability and price. There is no definitive medication, and it is not dictated by law. A volunteer can give you that information at the appropriate time.
What will the death certificate say as "cause of death"?
It will say that the person died from their underlying illness. Life insurance is still in effect.
EOLCOR Client Services Info Packet
End of Life Choices Oregon is a donor-supported organization
We rely on your donations to provide quality services to Oregonians.