Timeline: Death with Dignity (DWD)

First Oral Request to Your Physician:

Begins the 15-day waiting period; count from following day.

  • Must be a definite request for DWD;
  • Must be recorded in your medical record;
  • Can be made to any physician, as long as the prescribing physician accepts it as valid.

During the 15-day Minimum Waiting Period

The 15-day minimum requirement is the law. In practice, this usually takes longer. Exceptions to 15-day minimum possible in extreme situations. To learn more, read the State of Oregon’s DWD Frequently Asked Questions page.

Prescribing Physician (MD or DO)

  • Meets with the patient, examines and reviews medical records;
  • Certifies eligibility to use the law;
  • Collects Consulting Physician form and client’s Request for Medication form;
  • Writes prescription after 2nd Oral Request and 48-hours after the date on the Request for Medication form;
  • Mails or hand carries prescription to the pharmacy.

Consulting Physician (MD or DO)

  • Meets with the patient, examines and reviews medical records;
  • Certifies eligibility to use the law;
  • Sends Consulting Physician form to prescribing physician.

Client (Patient)

  • Completes the Request for Medication Form after having seen both physicians;
  • Submit this form to the Prescribing Physician;
  • The prescription may be written 48-hours after the date on the Request for Medication Form; if possible, complete it at least 48-hours before the 2nd oral request, so prescription can be written the day of the 2nd Oral Request.

2nd Oral Request

  • After the mandatory fifteen day waiting period, make your second request to the prescribing physician;
  • If prescribing physician agrees, 2nd oral request may be made by phone;
  • The prescription can be written the day of the 2nd oral request if the Request for Medication Form is dated at least 48 hours prior to that request.


  • Prescription can be filled immediately or left at the pharmacy until requested;
  • Prescription expires after six months;
  • Medication must be ordered in advance and is usually available within a few days;
  • Not all pharmacies fill the prescription;
  • Not all pharmacists within a pharmacy participate;
  • Medication prices vary;
  • Check with your insurance company for coverage;
  • The pharmacist must complete a form that goes to The Oregon Health Authority.


Note: Psychiatric Evaluation

If either physician questions the client’s judgment in making a request for DWD, they can refer the person to a psychiatrist or psychologist for evaluation.

For Your Records

Be sure to retain the following:

  • Name of prescribing physician
  • Name of consulting physician
  • Date of 1st verbal request
  • Date of 2nd verbal request
  • Date Request for Medication form signed and witnessed

Life Insurance Benefits

Benefits are not affected by using Oregon’s DWD. The death certificate indicates that the death is due to the underlying illness.

Request Support

Submit request for support online using the button below,
or call 503-922-1132 to talk to our office.

EOLCOR Death With Dignity Checklist

revised 1-22-2020

EOLCOR Client Services Info Packet

updated 10/2018

State of Oregon: Death With Dignity (DWD) Frequently Asked Questions

In 1997, Oregon enacted Death With Dignity, allowing terminally ill Oregonians to end their lives through the voluntary self-administration of a lethal dose of medication, expressly prescribed by a physician for that purpose. 

updated 1/1/2020

We are a donor-supported organization

We are a donor supported organization (501)(c)(3) and rely on your donations to provide personal quality end-of-life service and support

End of Life Choices Oregon is a donor-supported organization

We rely on your donations to provide quality services to Oregonians.