Out-of-State Information Regarding Oregon’s Death with Dignity Act

In order to be eligible for Oregon’s Death With Dignity law (DWD), you must come to Oregon for the minimum 15-day process and take the life-ending prescription to die in Oregon.

The following steps must be followed:

Criteria

Z

Terminally ill, i.e., prognosis of six months until death

Z

Medical documentation of terminal illness

Z

Minimum 18 years of age

Z

Autonomous request made by the person seeking DWD

Z

Decision-making capacity

Z

Self-administer prescription to end life in Oregon

Proccess

Z

Minimum time line of 15 days

Z

Identify two Oregon-licensed physicians who will be prescribing physician and consulting physician

Z

Two oral requests (separated by 15 days)

Z

“Request for Medication” form witnessed and signed by two people as described on the document

Resources

If you are a resident in one of the following jurisdictions, you can access MAID information in your location:

California

Colorado

District of Columbia

Hawaii

Maine

Montana

New Mexico

New Jersey

Vermont

Washington